D is for…..

Image

Dream. One of those words that feels like it should be a verb because it is an action word but is actually a noun.  What does dreaming mean? When I am not sure of a word meaning I turn to a dictionary (okay I Google the word and see what comes up)

Here are the first five definitions that  Dictionary.com says about the word dream
1. a succession of images, thoughts, or emotions passing through the mind during sleep.
2. the sleeping state in which this occurs.
3. an object seen in a dream.
4. an involuntary vision occurring to a person when awake.
5. a vision voluntarily indulged in while awake; daydream; reverie.

Those all make sense and seem to capture the word dream as I see it. But there is another side to the word. It is the fanciful side the playful side where you let your mind wander and do not worry about the what if’s and can this be done and just have fun. For example:  I want a beach house; I want to take the train across Europe. Not likely to happen but fun to dream about.

Or you can be fanciful but realistic by dreaming about having a new house; a new job or writing the great american novel. Those are dreams but more likely to happen than winning the lottery.

I think of a line from Cinderella ” A dream is wish your heart makes when you’re asleep.” The trick with dreams is to take your wishes from the night into the day.  How are you going to do that? Let me know in the comments.

6 Comments

Filed under 2014 A to Z Challenge

6 responses to “D is for…..

  1. Well, I might begin by gently shining a little bit of light on them…

  2. sometimes I do tell myself what kind of dream I want….and voila! I sometimes do have that dream! Cheers!

  3. Make a list! Like a grocery list, and start checking off your dreams as you accomplish them. Only way to git er done that I know of. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

